What's new

Barbara Natterson-Horowitz - Zoobiquity

ePUB

eBook ePUB BOT
#1
Frd.jpg

Barbara Natterson-Horowitz - Zoobiquity

Author : Barbara Natterson-Horowitz
Publisher : Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Description : In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, cardiologist and psychiatrist Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and science writer Kathryn Bowers look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines--evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology--to provide a revelatory understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind.

"Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In Zoobiquity, she uses fascinating case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be...
dok3ENS.png

 

Top